Club News‎ > ‎

Minors take the County Title in Brilliant Style

posted 22 Oct 2011, 10:05 by Tom Duggan   [ updated 23 Oct 2011, 14:09 ]

Minor final 2011

Mullinavat minors today captured the Roinn B Hurling Championship with an outstanding performance against a highly fancied St. Patrick's Ballyragget side. In a match played in dreadful conditions our minors produced their best display of the season when it mattered most. This was a performance which lifted the spirits of the large Mullinavat contingent and we extend hearty congratulations to the entire panel and the management team of Paul Coughlan, Mick Carroll, Michael Aylward, Packie Wall, Paddy Jones and Andrew Duggan.
Well done lads, this was one of the best ever victories by a Mullinavat team and the entire parish is extremely proud of your efforts.
Match  report:
Mullinavat 2-9 St. Patrick's 0-4
Mullinavat minors produced a brilliant display of hurling to capture the  Kilkenny Citroen Centre Roinn B hurling championship in Thomastown on Saturday. In a match played in dreadful conditions the Mullinavat boys led from start to finish and in the end ran out comfortable winners. St. Patrick's won the toss and opted to play against wind and rain. Mullinavat got off to a flying start with a point from Darren Waters in the first minute. They had two more on the scoreboard within five minutes thanks to John McCabe and Mark Mansfield.  St.Patricks were finding it difficult to get any foothold in the game and Mullinavat were winning the  key battles in all areas.Two more points were added from Mark Mansfield and a free from Simon
Aylward in the eleventh minute. Kevin Kelly was trying everything in his power to get his team moving but his opposite marker John McCabe was having an excellent game for Mullinavat. Mullinavat, while playing the better hurling, were guilty of some wasteful shooting and failed
to add to their tally for the next ten minutes. Then in the twenty-first minute came the goal which would set them on the road to victory. A clearance from defence from Robert Malone was caught by Pat Mulhern. He found Liam Fennelly who passed inside to Conor Duggan and he made no mistake to give the southerners a great boost. Mullinavat were in full flow now and points followed from John Walsh and a huge free from inside his own '45m line from Simon Aylward to stretch the
lead to ten points. Liam Fennelly added another smashing point from 65 metres and then right on the stroke of half time they added a second goal when Conor Duggan found Mark Mansfield and he blasted the sliotar to the net. This gave Mullinavat a commanding lead of 2-8 to 0-0.
It was a daunting task for St. Patricks to haul back this lead and they needed to get off to a blistering start in the second half. However it was the Southerners who started the better and within a minute of the restart they increased their lead when Mark Mansfield pointedfollowing a good pass from Pat Mulhern. St. Patricks  refused to throw in the towel and Conor Bolger pointed in the third minute. St. Patricks tried with all their might to get back into the match but they were finding it hard to break down a stubborn defence in which Robert Malone, Simon and Thomas Aylward were outstanding.David Kelly pointed two frees and following sustained pressure St. Patricks were
awarded a penalty when Eoin Bergin was fouled. Kevin Kelly's well struck shot was saved and you sensed that the title was heading south.
St. Patrick's kept battling and Eoin Bergin added a point with seven minutes left but Mullinavat were not going to be denied and ran out deserving winners.

Scorers: Mullinavat: Mark Mansfield (1-3), Conor Duggan (1-0), Simon Aylward (0-2 frees),John Walsh, Liam Fennelly, John McCabe and Darren Waters (0-1 each)
St. Patricks: David Kelly (0-2 frees), Conor Bolger (0-1) Eoin Bergin (0-1)
Mullinavat: Liam Walsh, Michael Jones, Thomas Aylward, Nathan Malone, Robert Malone, Simon Aylward, Brian Phelan, John Walsh, John McCabe, Darren Waters, Pat Mulhern, Mark Mansfield, Conor Duggan, Liam Fennelly, Jason Dalton.
St. Patricks: Billy Morrissey, Billy Butler, Paddy McEvoy, Niall Brophy, Mark Staunton, Robbie Healey, Lorcan Price, Jack Ryan, Kevin Kelly, Brendan Brophy, David Kelly, Shaun Gleeson, Shane Glennon, Eoin Bergin, Conor Bolger.
Referee: Jim Fitzgerald (Piltown)